DHS to Replace Color-Coded Threat System


Written by

Color-Coded Threat System

The Department of Homeland Security announced Tuesday morning that the National Terrorism Advisory System (NTAS) will now become the standard, focused on two plain-language directives if the government receives homeland security threat information it needs to relay to the public:

  • Elevated Threat: Warns of a credible terrorist threat against the United States
  • Imminent Threat: Warns of a credible, specific, and impending terrorist threat against the United States

“The terrorist threat facing our country has evolved significantly over the past ten years, and in today’s environment – more than ever – we know that the best security strategy is one that counts on the American public as a key partner in securing our country,” said DHS Secretary Janet Napolitano.

National Terrorism Advisory System Public Guide:

NTAS Public Guide

Sample NTAS Alert:

NTAS Sample Alert

-In this Story-

Department of Homeland Security (DHS), Departments, Janet Napolitano, National Terrorism Advisory System, NTAS