FedScoop 50 Awards honor top government, industry leaders and innovators

2012_11_20121128_Fedscoop_10 U.S. CTO Todd Park and CIO Steven VanRoekel at the FedScoop 50 Awards, held Wednesday night at a ceremony at the Hay Adams Hotel in Washington, D.C.

FedScoop honored federal technology leaders, innovators and rising stars at the first annual FedScoop 50 Awards on Wednesday night at a ceremony held at the Hay Adams Hotel in Washington, D.C.

More than 150 attendees came from throughout government, including the White House, Department of Defense and civilian agencies, along with industry leaders.


“We have the pleasure of working with the most brilliant people in both government and tech community every day,” said FedScoop CEO Goldy Kamali “We are thrilled to have the opportunity to celebrate the achievements of 50 of the federal IT community’s brightest minds and innovators of 2012 and to recognize them for their dedication and service.”

The 50 awardees were nominated by their peers throughout government and then voted on amongst FedScoop’s readers. More than 8,000 votes were cast for the awards that honored federal executives, federal leaders, industry leaders, federal IT programs, federal innovations, mentors and up-and-comers.


Golden Gov – Federal Executives of the Year

  • Todd Park, U.S. Chief Technology Officer, Executive Office of the President
  • Teri Takai, Chief Information Officer & Deputy Assistant Secretary of Defense Information Management, Department of Defense
  • Steven VanRoekel, U.S. Chief Information Officer, Executive Office of the President
  • Casey Coleman, Chief Information Officer, General Services Administration
  • Linda Cureton, Chief Information Officer, NASA
  • Theresa Grafenstine, Inspector General, U.S. House of Representatives
  • Lt. Gen. Susan Lawrence, Chief Information Officer, U.S. Army
  • Dr. David McClure, Associate Administrator, OCSC, General Services Administration
  • Wolf Tombe, Chief Technology Officer, U.S. Customs and Border Protection, Department of Homeland Security

Federal Leadership Award

  • Robert Carey, Deputy Information Officer, Department of Defense
  • Robert Coen, Acting Director, The NIH Information Technology Acquisition and Assessment Center
  • Frank Baitman, Chief Information Officer, Department of Health & Human Services
  • David Bennett, Chief Information Officer, Defense Information Systems Agency
  • Brook Colangelo, Chief Information Officer, Office of Administration, Executive Office of the President
  • Paul Craven, Associate Administrator, Office of Information Systems Technology, Employment and Training Administration
  • H. David Furr, Deputy Assistant Director & Chief Technology Officer, Naval Criminal Investigative Service, U.S. Navy
  • Margie Graves, Deputy Chief Information Officer, Department of Homeland Security
  • Rick Holgate, Assistant Director & Chief Information Officer, Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives, Department of Justice
  • Gwynne Kostin, Director, Digital Services Innovation Center, Office of Citizen Services & Innovative Technologies, General Services Administration
  • Michael Krieger, Deputy CIO/G6, U.S. Army
  • Brig. Gen. Kevin Nally, Director, C4/Chief Information Officer, U.S. Marine Corps
  • Dr. David Paschane, Organizational Architect, Department of Veterans Affairs
  • Grant Schneider, Chief Information Officer, Defense Intelligence Agency
  • Richard Spires, Chief Information Officer, Department of Homeland Security
  • Keith Trippie, Director , Enterprise Systems, Department of Homeland Security
  • Capt. Michael Weiner, Chief Medical Chief Information Officer, DOD
  • Jeffrey Zients, Deputy Director for Management, Office of Management and Budget

Industry Leadership Award

  • Gigi Schumm, Vice President and General Manager, Public Sector, Symantec
  • Bill Toti, Vice President & Account Executive, Navy & Marine Corps Accounts, U.S. Public Sector, HP Enterprise Services
  • Mark Weber, Senior Vice President, NetApp U.S. Public Sector
  • Teresa Carlson, Vice President Global Public Sector, Amazon
  • Gunnar Hellekson, Chief Technology Strategist, U.S. Public Sector, RedHat
  • Greg Myers, Vice President, Microsoft

Federal IT Program of the Year

  • NASA IT Labs, NASA IT Labs Team

Federal Innovation of the Year

  • Blue Button, Department of Veterans Affairs

FedMentors of the Year

  • Emma Antunes, Web Manager, NASA
  • James Craft, Deputy Director and Deputy Chief Information Officer, C4 and U.S. Marine Corps
  • Mary Davie, Acting Commissioner, Federal Acquisition Service, General Services Administration
  • Gary Galloway, Deputy Director, Information Assurance, State Department
  • Matthew Perry, Chief Information Officer, Office of Personnel Management
  • Nicholas Skytland, Program Manager, Open Innovation Program, NASA
  • Peter Tseronis, Chief Technology Officer, Department of Energy

Up-and-Comer Award

  • Lauren Bailey, Deputy Director, Online Communications, Dept. of Veteran’s Affairs
  • Anthony Calabrese, Web and New Media Specialist, Department of Health & Human Services
  • Amanda Eamich, Director of Web Communications, Office of Communications, U.S. Department of Agriculture
  • Justin Herman, Social Media Lead, Office of Citizen Services and Innovative Technologies, General Services Administration
  • Brittney Manchester, Public Affairs Specialist, Office of Personnel Management
  • Kanika Tolver, Information Technology Specialist, Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration, Department of Transportation

Latest Podcasts